top of page

Week 3

So, I've just continued with the work that I started in the previous week. In terms of the development of the pieces, I've started adding darker tones in the first piece in order to try and increase the sense of depth within the work. I;ve found painting over the background with the lighter tones to be a challenge, I've had to work in stages of layers in order to get the correct amount of saturation with the colour and not have the background push through the colour. I think that if I had to do it again, I wouldn't paint the entire background, I'd block out the foreground first and the clean up the edges.

As for the second piece, I've just been block in the rest of the figure, I've found it difficult to try and mix the flesh tones as well as actually blend them together on the cardboard so that you don't see all of the brushstrokes. I don't know whether or not I should be mixing the paint directly on the background or mixing it on the palette and then applying it.


bottom of page